Resources

Affordable Care Act

Affordable Care Act Information
Pre-existing condition coverage in Colorado http://www.gettinguscovered.org/
Understanding the Health Care Law http://www.healthcareandyou.org/

Birth Control

Birth Control Finder http://bedsider.org/
Contraceptive Options www.contracept.org
Emergency Contraception http://womenshealth.gov/publications/our-publications/fact-sheet/emergency-contraception.cfm
Methods http://womenshealth.gov/publications/our-publications/fact-sheet/birth-control-methods.cfm

Bladder Issues

Bladder Control for Women http://kidney.niddk.nih.gov/kudiseases/pubs/bcw_ez/index.aspx
Bladder Diary http://kidney.niddk.nih.gov/kudiseases/pubs/bcw_ez/insertB.aspx
Brochure http://kidney.niddk.nih.gov/kudiseases/pubs/uiwomen/UI-Women_508.pdf
Incontinence http://www.womenshealth.gov/publications/our-publications/fact-sheet/urinary-incontinence.cfm
Incontinence in Women http://www.nia.nih.gov/health/publication/urinary-incontinence
Interstitial Cystitis http://www.womenshealth.gov/publications/our-publications/fact-sheet/interstitial-cystitis.html
Urinary Tract Infection http://www.womenshealth.gov/publications/our-publications/fact-sheet/urinary-incontinence.cfm

Medical Boards for Obstetrics and Gynecology

American Board of Obstetrics & Gynecology http://www.abog.org/
American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologist http://www.acog.org/

Breast Cancer Prevention & Screening

Breast Cancer
Breast Cancer Screening http://www.cdc.gov/cancer/nbccedp/
Breast Cancer Prevention & Screening http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/pdq/prevention/breast/Patient
Breast Cancer Screening with Mammogram http://www.cdc.gov/cancer/breast/basic_info/screening.htm
Genetic Testing http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/factsheet/Risk/BRCA
Recommendation for BRCA Testing http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/uspstf/uspsbrca.htm
Understanding Breast Changes http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/screening/understanding-breast-changes/page1

Environmental Toxins

Campaign for Safe Cosmetics http://safecosmetics.org
Cosmetic Database http://www.ewg.org/skindeep/

Estimating Medical Costs

Fair Health http://www.fairhealthconsumer.org/

General Health

10 Steps to a Healthier Life http://www.pinellashealth.com/pressrelea…
Alcohol Alert http://www.niaaa.nih.gov/publications
Cancer Information Service http://www.cancer.gov/aboutnci/cis
Complementary and Alternative Medicine http://nccam.nih.gov/
Domestic Violence Hotline http://www.thehotline.org/
Environmental Health http://www.niehs.nih.gov/health/topics/
Family Doctor.org http://familydoctor.org/familydoctor/en.html
Health Information http://www.healthfinder.gov/
Health Information-tutorials http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/tutorial.html
Healthy Aging http://www.womenshealth.gov/aging/
Healthy Women http://www.healthywomen.org/
Nutrition Information http://www.eatright.org/
Organ Donation http://www.womenshealth.gov/publications/our-publications/fact-sheet/organ-donation.cfm
Physical Activity http://www.womenshealth.gov/publications/our-publications/fact-sheet/physical-activity.html
Stop Smoking http://www.womenshealth.gov/smoking-how-to-quit/
Stop Smoking https://www.coquitline.org/
Stress and Your Health http://www.womenshealth.gov/publications/our-publications/fact-sheet/stress-your-health.cfm
What you can do to maintain your health http://familydoctor.org/familydoctor/en/prevention-wellness.html
Women’s Health Week (mid-May) http://www.womenshealth.gov/whw/index.cfm

Genetic Testing

Gene Testing -BRCA http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/factsheet/Risk/BRCA
Genetic Disorders http://www.genome.gov/19016930
Genetic Testing http://www.genome.gov/19516567
Genetics and Healthcare http://www.genome.gov/27527652

Girls and Teens

Acne http://www.womenshealth.gov/faq/acne.cfm
Bone Health http://www.girlshealth.gov/nutrition/bonehealth/index.html
Healthy Eating http://www.girlshealth.gov/nutrition/healthy_eating/index.html
Eating Disorder http://womenshealth.gov/body-image/eating-disorders/
Girls Health http://www.girlshealth.gov/index.html
Your Period http://www.girlshealth.gov/body/period/index.html
Puberty http://familydoctor.org/familydoctor/en/teens/puberty-sexuality/everything-you-wanted-to-know-about-puberty.html
Sexually Transmitted Infection http://www.girlshealth.gov/body/sexuality/sti.html
Teen Pregnancy Prevention
Unintended Pregnancy http://www.cdc.gov/reproductivehealth/UnintendedPregnancy/index.htm

Government Sites

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention http://www.cdc.gov/
National Institutes of Health http://www.nih.gov/
NIH Senior Health http://nihseniorhealth.gov/

Gynecologic Cancers

American Cancer Society http://www.cancer.org/
Cervical Cancer
Gestational Tropholblastic Tumor http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/types/gestationaltrophoblastic
Ovarian Cancer
Uterine Cancer http://www.cancer.net/cancer-types/overview-81
Uterine Cancer-Endometrial http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/types/endometrial
Uterine Cancer-Sarcoma http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/types/uterinesarcoma
Vaginal Cancer http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/types/vaginal
Vulvar Cancer http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/types/vulvar
What’s My Risk http://oncolink.com/whatsmyrisk/
Women’s cancer http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/types/womenscancers

Gynecology Issues

Bacterial Vaginosis http://www.womenshealth.gov/publications/our-publications/fact-sheet/bacterial-vaginosis.cfm
Endometriosis
Fibroids
Lichen Sclerosus http://www.niams.nih.gov/health_info/Lichen_Sclerosus/default.asp
Ovarian Cysts
Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome
Vaginitis http://www.nichd.nih.gov/health/topics/vaginitis/Pages/default.aspx

Gynecology Procedures

Colposcopy http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/tutorials/colposcopy/htm/index.htm
D&C http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/tutorials/dilatationandcurettage/htm/index.htm
Endometrial Biopsy http://women.webmd.com/endometrial-biopsy
Hysterectomy
Laparoscopy http://www.webmd.com/digestive-disorders/laparoscopy-16156
LEEP http://www.webmd.com/cancer/cervical-cancer/loop-electrosurgical-excision-procedure-leep-for-abnormal-cervical-cell-changes

Health Care for Minorities

African American http://www.womenshealth.gov/minority-health/african-americans/
American Indian http://www.womenshealth.gov/minority-health/american-indians/index.html
Asian American http://www.womenshealth.gov/minority-health/asian-americans/index.html
Hispanics/Latinas http://www.womenshealth.gov/minority-health/latinas/index.html
Lesbian/Bisexual Health http://www.womenshealth.gov/publications/our-publications/fact-sheet/lesbian-bisexual-health.html
Minority Women’s Health http://www.womenshealth.gov/minority-health/index.html

Healthy Eating

Calcium http://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/Calcium-QuickFacts/
Dietary Supplement Fact Sheets http://ods.od.nih.gov/Health_Information/ODS_Frequently_Asked_Questions.aspx
Folate
Heart Healthy Eating http://www.womenshealth.gov/publications/our-publications/fact-sheet/heart-healthy-eating.html
Obesity and Weight Loss http://www.womenshealth.gov/publications/our-publications/fact-sheet/overweight-weight-loss.html
Dietary Supplements http://www.fda.gov/Food/DietarySupplements/ConsumerInformation/default.htm
Vitamin D http://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/VitaminD-QuickFacts/
Weight-Control Information
Worksheet for Dietary Supplements http://ods.od.nih.gov/pubs/DS_WhatYouNeedToKnow.pdf

Infertility

BBT and fertility monitoring http://www.fertilityplus.com/faq/bbt/bbtfaq.html
Reproductive Facts http://www.reproductivefacts.org/
Infertility http://www.womenshealth.gov/faq/infertil

Mayo Clinic

Mayo Clinic http://www.mayoclinic.com/

Medication Information

Consumer Reports-Best Buy for Drugs http://www.consumerreports.org/health/best-buy-drugs/index.htm
Consumer Reports-Drugs http://www.consumerreports.org/health/prescription-drugs/index.htm
Medline Plus http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/druginformation.html

Menopause

Hormone Therapy http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/women/pht_facts.pdf
Introduction to Menopause
Menopause http://www.womenshealth.gov/publications/our-publications/fact-sheet/menopause-treatment.html
http://www.hormone.org/MenopauseMap/
Menopause Society http://www.menopause.org/for-women
Pause Magazine http://pause.acog.org/
Stay Healthy at 50+ http://www.ahrq.gov/ppip/women50.htm
Women’s Health Initiative HealthIInitiative http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/whi/

Menstrual Issues

Menstrual Cycle http://womenshealth.gov/publications/our-publications/fact-sheet/menstruation.cfm
Premenstrual Syndrome http://www.womenshealth.gov/publications/our-publications/fact-sheet/premenstrual-syndrome.html

Osteoporosis

National Institutes of Health http://www.niams.nih.gov/Health_Info/Bone/Osteoporosis/overview.asp
National Osteoporosis Foundation http://www.nof.org/
Osteoporosis
Prevention http://orthoinfo.aaos.org/topic.cfm?topic=A00315
Surgeon General’s Report http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/library/reports/bonehealth/
Weight-bearing Exercise http://orthoinfo.aaos.org/topic.cfm?topic=A00263

Other Health Issues

American Diabetes Association http://www.diabetes.org/
American Heart Association http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/
Autoimmune Diseases http://www.womenshealth.gov/publications/our-publications/fact-sheet/autoimmune-diseases.cfm
Mental Health http://www.womenshealth.gov/mental-health/
Migraine http://www.womenshealth.gov/publications/our-publications/fact-sheet/migraine.html
Heart Disease and Stroke http://www.womenshealth.gov/heart-health-stroke/
Thyroid Diseases http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/thyroiddiseases.html

Preventive Health Care

Cervical Cancer Screening
Cervical Cancer Prevention http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/pdq/prevention/cervical/Patient
Endometrial Cancer Prevention http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/pdq/prevention/endometrial/Patient
Heart Disease Prevention http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/educational/hearttruth/
HPV Vaccines http://www.cdc.gov/hpv/vaccine.html
Immunization/Vaccination Information http://www.immunizationforwomen.org/
Ovarian Cancer Prevention http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/pdq/prevention/ovarian/Patient
Pap and HPV testing http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/factsheet/detection/Pap-HPV-testing
Screening Test Guidelines http://www.womenshealth.gov/screening-tests-and-vaccines/screening-tests-for-women/
Wisewoman-Heart Disease Screening http://www.cdc.gov/wisewoman/
Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention http://www.cdc.gov/dhdsp/

Sexually Transmitted Infections

Chlamydia http://www.cdc.gov/std/chlamydia/stdfact-chlamydia.htm
Genital Herpes http://www.cdc.gov/std/herpes/default.htm
Gonorrhea http://www.cdc.gov/std/gonorrhea/default.htm
Hepatitis http://www.womenshealth.gov/publications/our-publications/fact-sheet/viral-hepatitis.cfm
HPV http://www.cdc.gov/std/hpv/default.htm
HPV and Genital Warts http://www.womenshealth.gov/publications/our-publications/fact-sheet/human-papillomavirus.html
Pelvic Inflammatory Disease http://www.cdc.gov/std/pid/default.htm
Sexually Transmitted Diseases http://www.cdc.gov/std/default.htm
Sexually Transmitted Infections http://www.womenshealth.gov/publications/our-publications/fact-sheet/sexually-transmitted-infections.html
Trichomoniasis http://www.cdc.gov/std/trichomonas/default.htm